9. FACULTY OF THE YEAR AWARD

In order to recognize and encourage excellence in teaching, research, and service, the Board will, on an annual basis, present an award to one tenured and one non-tenured but tenure track faculty member at each state educational institution and the University of Kansas Medical Center. To assist the Board in identifying appropriate recipients for the award, the Faculty Senate of each state educational institution and the University of Kansas Medical Center shall adopt criteria by which each Faculty Senate shall annually select two faculty members to recommend to the Board for recognition. The criteria shall seek to identify faculty members whose teaching, research, and service over the preceding academic year have exemplified excellence and commitment to the mission of the institution. The criteria may be adopted and amended at any time in accord with the governance procedures of the individual Faculty Senates but shall be submitted to and subject to final review and approval by the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Board. Nominations shall be submitted to the Board in adequate time for review and approval or rejection at the Board's annual August retreat. Recipients shall be called before the Board for recognition at the